Oregon New Tobacco Sale Act Helps Prevent Teenagers From Using Tobacco | Local news


Effective January 1, 2022, Oregon retailers must hold a tobacco retail license to sell commercial tobacco products and inhalation delivery systems (IDS, also known as “e-cigarettes” or “vape”) under Senate Act 587, the Retail Licensing Act allows the state to more closely track where tobacco is sold and ensuring companies comply with tobacco laws, including sales to anyone under the age of 21.

“Almost 90% of people who start tobacco before they are 18 years old. So this law protects young people’s health today and makes them less likely to become addicted to nicotine, ”said Marlene Putman, administrator of Tillamook County Community Health Center. “One in six tobacco dealers checked in 2019 illegally sold tobacco to people under the age of 21. For flavored products, which are most popular with children, it was one in five. This law is an important step to stop these sales. “

The Oregon tobacco industry spends more than $ 100 million annually on marketing, including products and promotions aimed at targeting young people. In other states, retail tobacco licenses have been shown to reduce teenage sales and teenage tobacco use, which thwarted industry tactics. (Oregon was previously one of only seven states that did not require a tobacco retail license.)

Retailers can obtain an annual license for $ 953 from the Treasury Department at go.usa.govxe999. The fee is used in full to cover the cost of running the licensing program and performing inspections; No further income will be generated.

There are three exceptions to the law: Retailers operating on tribal land are exempt. Also excluded are retailers approved by the Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission or the Oregon Medical Marijuana Program to sell nicotine-free inhalation systems. Retailers in most counties that already had their own tobacco retail licensing program will continue to follow state and non-state licenses. See the National tobacco trade license Website for details: go.usa.gov/xe999.

During the first six months that the law is in effect (January 1 to June 30, 2022), the Oregon Health Department and local health authorities will be in contact to help retailers with access to educational materials and compliance with tobacco laws . Free retailer resources are available at www.healthoregon.org/tobaccoretailsales.

The law has real consequences for retailers who fail to comply with the law, such as fines and / or loss of license. Starting January 1, 2022, the Treasury Department will review whether retailers are licensed and impose penalties if they are not. Public health inspections – and the associated penalties – are designed to ensure retailers comply with tobacco laws, starting July 1, 2022.

The law is designed to make enforcement fair for retailers and communities. Public health professionals, not law enforcement, will conduct inspections by following instructions from racial equality organizations to ensure they are not over-enforcing in communities of color and other communities affected by the tobacco industry. The law also removes penalties for buying, consuming, and possessing tobacco products by teenagers, which will help reduce interactions between teenagers of color and the police, and to put responsibility for those who sell tobacco illegally, not teenagers.

For adults buying tobacco products, there is no difference in the sales process. This law does not affect the price of tobacco products.

Individuals who see or experience a retailer selling tobacco products without a license or to someone under 21 can report it to [email protected] or 971-673-0984.

Via Tillamook County Community Health Centers

The TCCHC has been a federally accredited health center providing medical, dental, behavioral, and public health services since 1994. Please visit our website at https://tillamookchc.org/ and our Facebook at TillamookCHC.


Comments are closed.